News Detail


February 21, 2018

Cal South held its 36th Annual Hall of Fame Luncheon and Awards Ceremony last Saturday afternoon at the Renaissance Hotel in Long Beach to honor the top teams, coaches, players, referees and administrators throughout Southern California.

Over 250 guests came together at the Bixby Ballroom to pay tribute to those that excelled in their respective positions throughout the 2017 season.

This year, Cal South inducted Assistant Director of Coaching Education Sean Roche, as well as Gary Sparks, former Coast Soccer League President, into the Class of 2018 Cal South Hall of Fame. Gary passed away in 2016, but his family was present to accept the honor.

All coaches who won a National President’s Cup title or National Championship were honored with the Excellence in Coaching Award. In the 2017 National Championship season, West Coast FC and Legends FC took four teams to compete in Texas and were presented last Saturday with the Club Merit Award.

The following is a full list of the honorees:

Class of 2018 Cal South Hall of Fame inductees: Sean Roche, Gary Sparks
President’s Award: Sue Abadie
Youth Male Player of the Year: Alan Vasquez
Youth Female Player of the Year: Jenna Nighswonger
Adult Male Team of the Year: L.A Wolves FC
Adult Female Team of the Year: L.A Villa FC
Adult Soccer Award of Excellence: Cynthia Vargas
Adult Soccer Award of Excellence: Samantha Martinez
Adult Soccer Award of Excellence: Salma Perez
Adult Soccer Award of Excellence: Reyna Fonseca
District 3: Chris Reighter
District 4: Nelson Handel
District 5: Jodi Richardson, Gary Adams
District 6: Kim Schenk
District 7: Rui Guimarais, Doug Easton, Dan Metcalfe
Recreational Excellence Award: Big Bear Youth Soccer, La Jolla Youth Soccer
TOPSoccer Coach of the Year: Ray & Jolene Marrero
TOPSoccer Volunteers of the Year: Valerie Cerda & Natalie Perez
TOPSoccer Angel of the Year: Ken Dandrea
Excellence in Coaching Award: Carlos Godinez, Paul Dolinsky, Mauricio Ingrassia, Sergio Jimenez, Manuel Vasquez, Jovan Almanza Higuera, Juventino Bernal, Eduardo Nunes, Brian Ziegenhagen, Chris Lofgren, Cle Kooiman
Male Youth Referee of the Year: Brent Hewitt
Female Youth Referee of the Year: Elizabeth Geraghty
Male Adult Referee of the Year: Martin Anthony Almeida-Chavez
Female Adult Referee of the Year: Cynthia Vargas Robles

The following is a slideshow of the top photos from the event:

2018 Hall of Fame Luncheon