News Detail


julio 19, 2011


July 19, 2011 (Bowling Green, Kentucky) - The San Diego Surf made the most of their trip to the 2011 United States Adult Soccer Association (USASA) National Cup Finals by winning the Men's Over 30 title on Sunday, July 17 at Lover's Lane Park in Bowling Green, Kentucky. After winning an exciting 4-2 overtime match against Florida's Royal Eagles Kickers on Friday morning, the Surf collected their trophy with a 3-0 shutout of the United Soccer Club from the D.C./Virginia area.

"In regards to the final, it ended up being a pretty comfortable game for us," said Surf player/coach Lucas Curtolo. "We were able to keep the ball from the onset and we created a lot of opportunities. Brian Wood drew a clear penalty kick in the 20th minute, which Chiky Luna put away to give us a 1-0 lead. About 10 minutes into the second half, we were able to put the game away when we sprung Shane Walton free on a breakaway, which he slotted to the far post.

"Once we went up 2-0, possession became even easier for us as they [United SC] were forced to chase. As a result, the field opened up for us and in the 70th minute we scored our best goal of the tournament. Possession started with our left back and after a string of 20+ passes, Danny Swaim made a long overlapping run out of the back, lobbing a ball into the back post which Cameron Adams headed home.

"Overall, it was a great experience. We're obviously very happy that we were able to bring home the title, but we're even prouder of the way we did it. In both games at Nationals we maintained possession, dictated the way the games were played, and scored some great team goals."

For more about the United States Adult Soccer Association National Cups Finals competition, please click here.


San Diego Surf Men's Over 30 Roster
Lucas Curtolo - Head Coach
Player Hometown
Cameron Adams Manhattan Beach
Gus Castaneda Encinitas
Paul Currie Del Mar
Lucas Curtolo Carlsbad
Aleks Glebov Irvine
Nate Hetherington Encinitas
Chiky Luna Carlsbad
Adrian Ocampo Carlsbad
Erik Ocampo Carlsbad
Jose Ocampo Carlsbad
Hiro Suzuki Rancho Penasquitos
Danny Swaim Carlsbad
Nick Swaim Carlsbad
Toby Taitano Carlsbad
Rashid Utush Sacramento
Brian Walsh Leucadia
Shane Walton La Jolla
Brian Wood San Diego
Vinko Zlomislic San Diego