Cal South E-News | December 2012 REFEREE EDUCATION
|Ask the Cal South State Referee Committee|
Have an officiating question? Send your emails to firstname.lastname@example.org
Too Quick on the Draw?
In a recent game, the referee kept repositioning the ball after our player would set it down for a quick restart on free kicks, thus slowing down play. The ball was set on the ground by our player and it was not moving before she would try and kick it. But the referee would stop the restart and reposition the ball. This allowed the opposing team to get numbers back and reshape. By doing this, he completely took away our sense of urgency for continuing play. Any ideas as to why he would do this? We are not a recreational team. We are an older Gold level team. Thank you in advance for your response.
A lecture was prepared recently to address the subject of quick free kicks and to remind referees that players have the right and the option to have a quick free kick. It was also emphasized that the defending team has the responsibility to stay 10 yards from the ball. Two examples from FIFA's Laws of the Game were given:
Example 1 - "if a player decides to take a free kick quickly and an opponent who is less than 10 yards from the ball intercepts it, the referee must allow play to continue"
From the examples given, it is clear that in Example 1, the team taking a quick free kick takes a chance for the ball to be intercepted by the opponent and that will be acceptable. In Example 2, the opponent that is not 10 yards from the ball cannot attempt to interfere with the taking of the quick free kick because this will be taken as "delaying the restart of play," and then the player will be shown the yellow card in accordance with the Laws of the Game.
Referees at the lecture were also reminded that teams are better coached these days, and to expect a far more tactical approach from teams during games within the Laws of the Game.
Reffing Your Relatives
Is a referee allowed to ref a game if he or she is related to someone on one of the teams involved?
The answer is NO. This is seen as a "conflict of interest." We suggest you report this to the Referee Association that makes the assignments for your league, or provide the referee name so that this matter can be resolved.